(planning) paris is always a good idea

10.12.2016

sooo today Doris told me we’re going to go to Paris on Tuesday, October 18th!!!! you can’t even imagine the joy in my heart as dreams i didn’t even know i had are coming true.

Going to Paris is one of those things that I always had in my head as “I wish I could go to ____.” And I would wistfully fill in the blank with Paris (or Amsterdam or Dubai or Sydney or New York City or Stockholm or London) in mind, but never actually put much thought into what I would do there or how I could make it happen. And I really never expected it to happen so soon or even actually happen at all. This sounds bad that a dream that other people may plan their whole lives for kinda just fell in my lap, but nonetheless, am so grateful. 

Paris to me is more than a city; it’s a lifestyle and it’s a mood and it’s an aesthetic. I know that may not make any sense but in my head and heart I just get this feeling when i think about Paris. It’s this lightweight, carefree, anything is possible kind of feeling. It’s pastel pink and fuzzy and a bear hug and bright and sparkling and passionate and Tchaikovsky’s Romeo and Juliet Love Theme and it’s refreshing (refreshing like a breath of air, not refreshing like a cold bubbly soda on a hot summer day).

that is all super romanticized but that’s just how i see it in my head.

it’s kinda like…if lychee cotton candy were a city and a people and a culture. (i don’t even know if that exists. but if it did, it would encapsulate how i feel about Paris).

does that even make sense? hopefully, that description helps you understand what goes on in my head.

so yea… we spent the whole morning and some of the afternoon planning the logistical side of the trip.

And later in the afternoon, Doris and I visited the Normandy American Cemetery and Memorial. I didn’t expect to be that interested in the museum (i know that sounds bad but it’s just history isn’t always my favorite subject to learn about). However, I ended up spending so much time in the museum portion that next thing I know, the NACM is making an announcement that they’re closing! So we didn’t have time to go to the cemetery portion today. But, before the end of the trip we’ll be back to visit the cemetery and pay our respects to those who so courageously fought for freedom in the face of fear.

With all that said, I am incredibly happy¹ at the moment and here’s a quote from F. Scott Fitzgerald that captures how i feel!

“For what it’s worth: it’s never too late, or in my case too early, to be whoever you want to be. There’s no time limit. Start whenever you want. You can change or stay the same. There are no rules to this thing. We can make the best or the worst of it. I hope you make the best of it. I hope you see things that startle you. I hope you feel things you never felt before. I hope you meet people who have a different point of view. I hope you live a life you’re proud of, and if you’re not, I hope you have the courage to start all over again.”

 

Let me know if you have any questions about what’s up. Or just tell me things in general!

BIS SPÄTER!


  1. See how I wrote that in fuchsia? yea that means i’m happy, hahaha.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Delaney Nisbett says:

    WAIT!!! Did you mention something about a bear hug????? Did Paris change you?? Are you a hugger now??

    Like

    1. no no no no no no. still not a hugger, thanks for asking hahaha. see i’m trying this post #relatable to all those huggers out there.

      Like

Leave a comment